K.B. Holzman–Interview

Describe your creative space. Do you work at home, in public spaces, etc.?

I absolutely agree with Virginia Wolfe and have always carved out a room on my own. When the door is closed, LEAVE ME ALONE.

What kind of materials do you use? Do you write by hand or type? What is your favorite writing utensil?

I can’t imagine writing on anything else but a computer at this point. My handwriting long ago became illegible, even to me.

What is your routine for writing?

I try to write every morning, although I often lay in bed the early hours before sunrise thinking through my stories. Walks can also be very useful in puzzling out what comes next.

How long have you been writing? When did you start writing?

I always wanted to write, and participated in the poetry scene in Manhattan in the 1970s. Recently, I returned to writing prose.

Who is your intended, or ideal, audience? Who do you write for?

As an avid reader, my ideal writer is my fellow readers.

What inspires you to write? If you are blocked, what do you do?

I have a great writing group which inspires me and, when all else fails, I rely on prompts. I have now participated in NaNoWriMo twice and, as a result, have two novels in the works.

What other things do you do besides writing? Do you dance or play golf, etc.?

Yoga, biking, and hiking.

What is your favorite part of the creative process?

I always try to remember that the act of writing is the greatest joy.  As Anne Lamott once said, publication is the crack but the true ecstasy is in process of creating.

What is your advice to aspiring writers?

Enjoy yourself!

Check out K.B.’s work in Volume 4, Issue 1.

One thought on “K.B. Holzman–Interview

Leave a comment